I grew up on games, now I just don’t have time for them

Over the past 20 years I have amassed an astronomical collection of video games. At least by my standards. And over time I have thought I was completely done with gaming only to sell off my collection and then later repurchase the same games again. A couple examples of gems I have discarded at some point in time:

Dragon Warrior 4 (NES)

Final Fantasy III (VI) (SNES)

The Legend of Zelda (NES)

Wild Arms 3 (PS2)

Lunar: The Silver Star Story Complete (with original packaging)

The Arc the Lad Collection (with original packaging)

There are countless more games I have sold and repurchased, these are just a few that I look at and cringe a little. I didn’t even mention my Gameboy Advance with Fire Emblem, Metroid 2:Return of Samus and many others. At least I never got rid of my disc copy of Suikoden II! 

No matter how many times I do this though, purging my collection thinking I am done with gaming or specific games, I end up getting pulled back in. I sold my initial copy of the original Disgaea and have since bought another version and own it digitally. I bought Front Mission 3 again after I sold it. I bought the Arc the Lad collection on PSN when it was on sale. So I finally decided to stop selling games. Some may disagree with this or find it foolish because it just leads to clutter. But if I keep buying these games multiple times then why should I sell them? 

Anyways, the point of all this is to point out that over the years I have accumulated this rather large collection of games that keeps growing. Some say it’s a waste and to be honest I can’t say I completely disagree with them. There is a very good chance I will never play all the games in my collection. But I decided to start this blog as a way to chronicle my progress through my game collection. I very rarely buy and play games at launch these days. I played Uncharted 4 at launch last year because my wife got it for me for my birthday. I will play Mass Effect Andromeda at launch (or close to launch) because it is my favorite series in gaming. In 2015 I started playing Batman: Arkham Knight the same year it was re lease because I had played through Arkham  Asylum, Arkham City and Arkham Origins that year and wanted to see how the series concluded. But normally I am working through my backlog. 

These days I lover gaming as much as ever but don’t have the time for it like I used to. I have a 50 hour a week job, a wife, 3 month old daughter and there are only so many hours in a day. As I said above though I love gaming. There is something about the experience of playing a truly immersive game that other forms of media and entertainment cannot replicate. There is nothing that can replicate the experience of setting foot on the Citadel for the first time in Mass Effect or knowing that the Normandy was the safest place in the galaxy in Mass Effect 3. There’s something more personal about watching Nate and Sully bail each other out in Uncharted 4. Or watching the ending cutscene between Joel and Ellie in The Last of Us left me stunned. Or waking up as Celes in the World of Ruin left me with a feeling of hopelessness I’ve not experienced watching a movie or TV show. Or exploring Hyrule for the first time left me with a sense of awe; here was a fantasy world that I had created in my imagination and only dreamed of. Or the first time I watched a giant bullet bill fly past Mario’s head in Super Mario World I felt like I had entered another era of gaming after the NES. Or starting off as an 18 year old pitcher in AA ball and working my way to the majors and eventually win the World Series and end up in the Hall of Fame in MLB The Show. Or becoming the head coach at an afterthought program like Vanderbilt and turning thrm into a perreniel powerhouse in college football with multiple national championships. And I haven’t even brought up some of my all time favorites such as Final Fantasy 4, The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past, Metroid Prime, and the infamous Final Fantasy 7.

Games tap into escapism and creativity in ways I can’t. My goal with this blog isn’t to dive deep and provide tons of commentary on game play systems and all that. Yes that’s part of what I plan to talk about, but I know when I read game reviews I get bored reading about all the nuances of game play systems. I want to talk about the experience of going through my backlog, what games are memorable for me, which ones aren’t and talk about what makes it memorable. And hopefully those games I look at today and say “I will never play that” end up getting played.

Leave a Reply

