Weekly update: Week ending 3/13/2017

Okay, so I want to give an update on what I’ve been playing, the progress I’ve made, and any purchases I’ve made this week. I guess I’ll start with purchases. No purchases made this week although I had a couple of tempting games that went on sale I considered buying. The Legend of Heroes: Trails in the Sky Second Chapter was on sale on Steam this week and I considered picking it up. It was marked down to $19.49 from it’s regular price of $29.99. I keep wanting to wait and see if it ever drops to $14.99 on sale before I pick it up, but it hasn’t gotten to that point yet. Either way, I haven’t even played The Legend of Heroes: Trails in the Sky First Chapter yet so I have a hard time justifying buying its sequel just yet.

I also considered picking up the Megaman Legacy Collection which was on sale for $6.00 on Xbox Live. But I skipped that one as well. That is more of a nostalgia buy just because I am interested in owning those classic games that I played as a kid on SNES. Either way, I decided to pass on it.

So, what did I get into this week? Quite a bit, actually. Far more than I expected to. Spoilers below for any of these games that have a strong story focus.

Final Fantasy IX (Android)

I’ve been playing this on Android and slowly working through it. It was a slow week for FFIX, as I am about 10 hours in and currently in Treno with Dagger, Steiner, and Marcs. I ran into Dotor Tot and we are about to embark on our trip to obtain the SuperSoft from him so we can go save Blank from his petrification in the Evil Forest. Outside of fighting some battles outside of Treno to build up Dagger and Steiner’s level I didn’t really accomplish much as I got tied up in other games.

Persona 3: FES (PS3)

I have been grinding through this game for almost two years and at this point have pretty much committed to making this the only big console release I play until I finish it. I ended up getting through more than I thought I would this weekend. I am at the full moon that takes place at the end of October/early November. The full moon that the team believes will be the last one because all 12 shadows have been killed. Well a couple things happened at this point. First, it appears we have defeated the two members of Strega who remain – Takaya and Jin. Shuji Ikutsuki also revealed his intentions to essentially destroy the world in an effort to cleanse it of its ugliness and take over. You know, typical JRPG stuff. So basically, it has come out that Tartarus didn’t disappear after defeating the 12th shadow, and there is still work to be done.

Call of Duty Black Ops 3 (Xbox One)

I put in a couple games of Zombies mode, specifically the Revelations map. Nothing too big here. I just managed to barely get to round 20 in a couple games. I haven’t played in a while and am rusty. But quite frankly to get any further I am going to need to eventually figure out where all the Dragon Shield parts are and get them.

The Swapper (PS4)

I picked this up on the recommendation of some folks over at neogaf a couple months back. I think I paid $1.99 for it or something like that. Either way, I fired this up on Friday night and spent a couple hours playing it on Saturday as well. I really like this game a lot. I often forget that other genres besides WRPG and JRPGs like to tell stories and often do it better than those genres.

So far The Swapper is telling a story about a derelict space station. You play as a lone astronaut who has a device that allows him to create lifeless clones of himself (up to 4 at a time) and transfer your consciousness to them to solve puzzles and unlock different parts of the space station. It has a very “Super Metroidy” vibe to it so far. It’s also a short game that helps break up the longer Persona 3. I am really interested to see where this one goes.

Kingdom Rush (Android)

I’ve probably spent most of my time on this game. It’s your classic tower defense game on mobile that I’ve sunk a ton of time into. I’ve probably played through the primary 12 or so levels of the campaign 3 or 4 times, but I recently went back to this one to try and dig into the game more as there are are a number extra modes within each level to play out. A number of levels also unlock after completing the campaign. It’s quick, easy to play, and a ton of fun. It’s a surprisingly deep game for a mobile tower defense game. Really looking forward to seeing where this one goes. I’d really like to get to a point where I can play a map with endless waves just to see how long I can hold out. I’ll probably give a more in depth review/assessment once I get through some more game modes.

That’s it for this week. I expect this coming week to be pretty much the same game list. If I am lucky I may be able to get through The Swapper and spend some more time with Final Fantasy IX. We’ll see how the week unfolds!

Leave a Reply

